We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2021 Codhill Press Pauline Uchmanowicz Poetry Award.

Mary GillilandMary Gilliland, of Ithaca, New York, for her collection The Devil’s Fools.

Mary Gilliland is the author of two poetry collections: Gathering Fire and The Ruined Walled Castle Garden. She is also a founding board member of Light On The Hill retreat center. Her essay ‘Eco-Logic’ appears in From the Finger Lakes: A Memoir Anthology. Her poems have been anthologized in Nuclear Impact: Broken Atoms In Our Hands, in the multimedia Strange Histories: A Bizarre Collaboration, in The & Now Awards: The Best Innovative Writing, and in Wild Gods: The Ecstatic in Contemporary Poetry and Prose. She is the recipient of the Stanley Kunitz Fellowship at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, a featured reading at the Al Jazeera International Film Festival, and a Council for the Arts Faculty Grant from Cornell University, where she was instrumental in developing the Knight Institute for Writing, and taught such courses as “Ecosystems & Ego Systems” for the Biology & Society Program and “Mind & Memory: Creativity in the Arts & Sciences” for the Society for the Humanities.

Congratulations as well to our finalists:
Darren Morris | Richmond, VA
Patrick Errington | Edinburgh, Scotland

And to our semifinalists:
Mary-Lou Brockett-Devine | Niantic, CT
Emily Schulten | Key West, FL
Sarah Sousa | Ashfield, MA

Malisa Garlieb | South Burlington, VT
Hannah Dow | Bentonville, AR
Mary Dean Lee | Montreal West, QC
Jake Young | Santa Cruz, CA
Amy Fair | Winston, OR

Thanks to all of you who entered the competition. We could not have sponsored the award without your support.

The annual award is given for a full-length (48+ page) poetry manuscript. The next deadline is December 30, 2022. Please consider resubmitting your work this year. All manuscripts are read anonymously and at least twice.

Wishing you much continued success with all of your writing and publishing endeavors.

James Sherwood
Contest Coordinator

Susannah Appelbaum

David Appelbaum