We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2019 Codhill Press Pauline Uchmanowicz Poetry Award.

Grant Clauser, of Hatfield, PA, has won for his collection Muddy Dragon on the Road to Heaven.

Grant Clauser

Grant Clauser

Grant Clauser is the author of the books Reckless Constellations (winner of the Cider Press Book Award), The Magician’s Handbook, Necessary Myths (winner of the Dogfish Head Poetry Prize) and The Trouble with Rivers. Poems have appeared in The American Poetry Review, Cortland Review, Painted Bride Quarterly, Poet Lore, Southern Poetry Review, Tar River Poetry and others. He lives in Pennsylvania and works as an editor for a New York media company and teaches poetry at Rosemont College. He can be found on Twitter at @uniambic.

Congratulations as well to our finalists:

Mel Elberger | Elizabeth, New Jersey
Valentina Gnup | Oakland, California
R.S. Mengert | Tempe, Arizona
Helen Wickes | Oakland, California

And to our semifinalists:

John Blair San Marcos | Texas
David Cravens Florissant | Colorado
Kelly Cressio-Moeller | San Jose, California
Deborah DeNicola | Margate, Florida
Elizabeth Fox | Montpelier, Vermont
Colin Pope | Stillwater, Oklahoma
Elizabeth Rees | Silver Spring, Maryland
Ellen Sazzman | Potomac, Maryland
Matthew J. Spireng | Kingston, New York
Jeffrey Talmadge | Austin, Texas



Lysbeth Benkert | Aberdeen, South Dakota
John-Michael Bloomquis | Gilbert, Arizona
Christopher Brunt | Memphis, Tennessee
Doris Ferleger | Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Christien Gholson | Santa Fe, New Mexico
Samuel Gilpin | Henderson, Nevada
Lynn McGee | Bronx, New York
Jennifer Metsker | Ann Arbor, Michigan
Jed Myers | Seattle, Washington
Gwynn O’Gara | Sebastopol, California
Donald Platt | Lafayette, Indiana
Virginia Sutton | Tempe, Arizona

Thanks to all of you who entered the competition. We could not have sponsored the award without your support.

The annual award is given for a full-length (48+ page) poetry manuscript. The next deadline is December 30, 2020. Please consider resubmitting your work this year. All manuscripts are read anonymously and at least twice.

Wishing you much continued success with all of your writing and publishing endeavors.

James Sherwood
Contest Coordinator

David Appelbaum