February 10, 2016

Mark Maire of Duluth, Minnesota won the 2015 Codhill Poetry Award for his manuscript Meridian. He received $1,000 plus 25 copies. Winner of the 2015 Emergence Chapbook Series Prize for Clear Day in January (Red Dragonfly Press) and a Pushcart Prize nominee, his poems have appeared widely in journals, including Talking River, Minnesota Review, Blueline, Midwestern Gothic, Aqueous Magazine, PROOF Magazine, Thunderbird Review, and elsewhere. Other work has appeared in the anthologies Migrations: Poetry and Prose for Life’s Transitions, Good Company: Poets from Grinnell College, Between Stone and Flesh, Response, Shared Visions, and Trail Guide to the Northland Experience in Prints and Poetry. Mark Maire holds a BA from Grinnell College and a MA from the University of Iowa.

Congratulations as well to our finalists:

Jack Lindeman, Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Danielle Hanson, Atlanta, Georgia
Charles Hansmann, Sea Cliff, New York

And to our semifinalists:

Shawn Fawson, Denver, Colorado
Janlori Goldman, Accord, New York
Brandon Krieg, Kalamazoo, Michigan
Steven Brown, Belmont, Massachusetts
Mark Terrill, Burg, Germany
David Ebenbach, Washington, DC
Matthew Burns, Schenectady, New York


Mark McKain, Altamonte Springs, Florida
Joan Baranow, Mill Valley, California
Andrew Miller, Copenhagen, Denmark
Rich Ives, Camano Island, Washington
Linwood Rumney, Cincinnati, Ohio
Adam Houle, Darlington, South Carolina
Jeffrey Bean, Mount Pleasant, Michigan
J.D. Smith, Washington, DC
Carter Smith, Winston-Salem, North Carolina
J.R. Toriseva, Rochester, New York
Anna Leahy, Orange, California
John Morrison, Portland, Oregon

Thanks to all of you who entered the competition. We could not have sponsored the award without your support.

The annual award is given for a full-length (48+ page) poetry manuscript. The next deadline is December 30, 2016. Please consider resubmitting your work this year. All manuscripts are read anonymously and at least twice. For complete details, please visit our website,

Wishing you much continued success with all of your writing and publishing endeavors.


Pauline Uchmanowicz
Contest Coordinator

David Appelbaum