Codhill Poetry Award Winner 2014

February 10, 2015

Sonia Greenfield of Los Angeles, California won the 2014 Codhill Poetry Award for her manuscript Boy with a Halo at the Farmer’s Market. She received $1,000 plus 25 copies. Author of poetry chapbook Circus Gravitas (2014) and two-time Pushcart Prize nominee (2011, 2014), her poems have appeared in 2010 Best American Poetry, The Antioch Review, The Bellevue Literary Review, Cimarron Review, Cream City Review, The Massachusetts Review, Meridian, Rattle, and elsewhere. Sonia Greenfield holds an MFA from University of Washington as well as an MPW from the University of Southern California, where she teaches writing.

Congratulations as well to our finalists:

Mark Maire, Duluth, Minnesota

Dara-Lyn Shrager, Princeton, New Jersey

Katharine Rauk, Minneapolis, Minnesota

And to our semifinalists:

Dara Barnett, Forest Hills, New York

Mark McKain, Altamonte Springs, Florida

Jason Olsen, Price, Utah

Danielle Hanson, Atlanta, Georgia

Jed Myers, Seattle, Washington

V.P. Loggins, Annapolis, Maryland

Jack Lindeman, Fleetwood, Pennsylvania

Margo Stever, Sleepy Hollow, New York

Mary Fister, Florence, Massachusetts


J. Harrison, Lawrence, Kansas

Dante Di Stefano, Endwell, New York

Dylan Debelis, New York, New York

Steve Lautermilch, Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina

Annie Stenzel, Richmond, California

Mary Jo Thompson, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Daniel W. K. Lee, Seattle, Washington

Barbara Presnell, Lexington, North Carolina

Annie Stenzel, Richmond, California

Robert Cooperman, Denver, Colorado

Thanks to all of you who entered the competition. We could not have sponsored the award without your support.

The annual award is given for a full-length (48+ page) poetry manuscript. The next deadline is December 30, 2015. Please consider resubmitting your work this year. All manuscripts are read anonymously and at least twice. For complete details, please visit our website,

Wishing you much continued success with all of your writing and publishing endeavors.


Pauline Uchmanowicz
Contest Coordinator

David Appelbaum